Please choose your territory and language
Italy, English

A league of his own: Absalon's historical World Cup win with the Di2

1. June 2014

Germany, Albstadt - UCI Mountainbike Weltcup

The fourth World Cup of the season in Albstadt was the day for BMC. Julien Absalon is the first rider to win 29 cross country World Cups in his career. He has also the first mountain biker to win a World Cup using an electronic shifting system. Moritz Milatz rode to fifth place, and the team ranking was again won by BMC Mountainbike Racing Team.

In Albstadt Julien Absalon showed the public just how unchallengeable his dominance can be. He countered an attack launched by the talented Swiss climber Fabian Giger with aplomb, finally distancing his last competitor for the clear win with vehemence. In the following rounds he expanded his lead winning the race in front of a crowd of about 15,000 enthustiastic spectators more than 1 minute ahead of world champion Schurter.

"I have always said that this is my favorite course. Therefore, it is fantastic to break the all-time record right here," said Julien Absalon. This success is also satisfaction for the bad luck that he had suffered in the previous year.

In Albstadt, Absalon shifted gears with a prototype XTR Di2, the first electronically controlled shifting system for mountain bikes. „It performs very rapidly and accurately. This is the future and I am happy to be the first athlete who has won a race with Di2", emphasized Frenchman Absalon.

Albstadt also was an emotional experience for Absalon's teammate Moritz Milatz. In front of the deafening backdrop of the „witches' cauldron" in the Bullentäle he claimed fifth place and his second consecutive World Cup podium. „It's terrific to have made it to the top in front of such a great crowd. To me that makes my result even more special", so Milatz who was very touched.

Adding in Lukas Flückiger's tenth place, BMC Racing Team also won the team classification and thus increased its lead in the overall ranking considerably. Reto Indergand banked his first top 20 result in the elite category that he has been racing in since this season.

Participating BMC Athletes: (Julien Absalon - France, Lukas Flückiger - Switzerland, Ralph Näf - Switzerland, Moritz Milatz - Germany, Stephen Ettinger - USA, Martin Fanger - Switzerland, Reto Indergand - Switzerland)

1. Julien Absalon
2. Nino Schurter (Sui)
3. Stephane Tempier (Fra)
4. Fabian Giger (Sui)
5. Moritz Milatz
6. Daniel McConnell (Aus)
10. Lukas Flückiger
18. Reto Indergand
21. Stephen Ettinger
29. Ralph Näf
DNF Martin Fanger

Url to Results: