Please choose your territory and language
Italy, English

team news

Cadel Evans is a two-time winner of the Tour de Romandie. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)
Cadel Evans is a two-time winner of the Tour de Romandie. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)

Tour de Romandie Roster Includes Evans, van Garderen

22. April 2012

Cadel Evans makes his return to stage racing Tuesday at the Tour de Romandie, surrounded by a strong supporting cast that includes Tejay van Garderen, who will share co-leader responsibilities.

Experienced Helpers
Brent Bookwalter and Amaël Moinard helped Evans win the Critérium International last month. Swiss riders Steve Morabito and Johann Tschopp, who have competed at Romandie a combined nine times, will also serve as important helpers for Evans, BMC Racing Team Assistant Director Rik Verbrugghe said. "Those guys really know the course well and they'll be strong support for both Cadel and Tejay, who we also consider one of our leaders for this race." The five-day race begins with a 3.3-kilometer prologue, features a mountain-top finish on Stage 4 and concludes with a 16.5 km time trial.

Good Test Of Fitness
Evans withdrew from the Amstel Gold Race a week ago, still feeling the effects of a sinus infection that kept him from starting the remaining Ardennes classics. But the race's defending champion – who also won this race in 2006 – said he is feeling much better and hopes to regain any fitness he has lost. "For sure it will be difficult to make the same result as last year, considering how I've felt in the last days," Evans said. "With my infection, I won't be at the same level of competitiveness. But I hope to be there for the hardest stages. I will take it day-by-day. We will see how I feel in the first two stages, and then I will have a better idea of where my condition is."

Download the BMC Racing Team race card (PDF with bios, statistics, etc.):

BMC Racing Team Tour de Romandie Roster (April 24-29):
Brent Bookwalter (USA), Cadel Evans (AUS), Martin Kohler (SUI), Klaas Lodewyck (BEL), Amaël Moinard (FRA), Steve Morabito (SUI), Johann Tschopp (SUI), Tejay van Garderen (USA).

President/General Manager:
Jim Ochowicz (USA)

Andy Rihs (SUI)

Sport Directors:
Fabio Baldato (ITA)
Rik Verbrugghe (BEL)

Chief Medical Officer:
Dr. Max Testa (ITA)

Press Officers:
Georges Lüchinger (LIE)
Blandine Roquelet (FRA)

Bus Driver: Filip Sercu. Mechanics: Antonio Biron (ITA), Kevin Grove (USA), Ronald Ruymen (BEL). Soigneurs: David Bombeke (BEL), Bernd Coutteau (BEL), Anthony Pauwels (BEL), Trudi Rebsamen (USA).