Please choose your territory and language
Italy, English

team news

George Hincapie won Gent-Wevelgem in 2001. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)
George Hincapie won Gent-Wevelgem in 2001. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)

BMC Racing Team Has Options For Gent-Wevelgem

24. March 2011

Gent, Belgium

Two former Gent-Wevelgem winners, Marcus Burghardt (2007) and George Hincapie (2001), are among the BMC Racing Team's leaders for Sunday's Belgian classic.

Hincapie Feels Great

BMC Racing Team Assistant Director Fabio Baldato said Alessandro Ballan and Greg Van Avermaet will join Burghardt and Hincapie as protected riders for the 219 km race. "We have four riders who are very strong and in good spirits and condition," Baldato said. "Who will lead will depend on the race, such as if there's an early breakaway, or on the wind – which can be a big factor." Hincapie is optimistic. "I feel really good – better than ever," he said. "I've had a good week of training. The whole intention this year was to spend the month of February training at home, then starting with Tirreno, to be as fit and ready as possible for the next three weekends of racing."

BMC Racing Team Gent-Wevelgem Roster (March 27):
Alessandro Ballan (ITA), Marcus Burghardt (GER), George Hincapie (USA), Alexander Kristoff (NOR), Michael Schär (SUI), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL), Danilo Wyss (SUI), Simon Zahner (SUI).

Sport Directors:
Fabio Baldato (ITA), Michael Sayers (USA)

Doctor: Dario Spinelli (ITA). Mechanics: Ronald Ruymen (BEL), Nick Vandecauter (BEL). Soigneurs: Chris De Vos (BEL), Jeremiah Ranegar (USA), Freddy Viaene (BEL). Bus Driver: Francesco Villa (ITA).