Please choose your territory and language
Italy, English

team news

Cadel Evans (leading) is looking to improve on his third-place finish of a year ago at the Giro d'Italia. (©BMC/Graham Watson.)
Cadel Evans (leading) is looking to improve on his third-place finish of a year ago at the Giro d'Italia. (©BMC/Graham Watson.)

BMC Racing Team Announces Giro d'Italia Roster

1. May 2014

The BMC Racing Team's roster to support Cadel Evans at the Giro d'Italia includes a plethora of riders who have helped him to success at past grand tours and in smaller stage races this year.

'Happy With The Support'
Joining Evans for the three-week race that begins May 9 in Belfast, Ireland, are three riders who helped him win the 2011 Tour de France: Brent Bookwalter, Steve Morabito and Manuel Quinziato. Daniel Oss and Danilo Wyss teamed with the 2009 world road champion at last year's Giro when Evans finished third. Last week, Yannick Eijssen and Ben Hermans joined Bookwalter, Morabito and Oss on the winning team time trial squad that started Evans on his way toward overall victory at the Giro del Trentino. And Samuel Sánchez rode in support of Evans when he finished seventh at Vuelta al Pais Vasco. "I am delighted with the Giro team we have," Evans said. "I think it will be the best one we have had as a team and I am very happy with the support I will have. They are absolutely committed riders and these are really my guys I trust and know I can rely on." Evans said Sánchez's wealth of experience – the past Olympic road champion will be riding his 15th grand tour – is a bonus. "We are both reasonably experienced riders who have similar habits and a very similar way of racing," Evans said. "Having a lieutenant like Samuel is far more than I could have hoped for."

Bringing Confidence To The Start
Sport Director Baldato said the quality of the squad around Evans exceeds any edition the BMC Racing Team has fielded since it first began competing in the Giro in 2010. "It is an amazing team, a strong team," Baldato said. "Coming from our success at Trentino, a race which brought us a lot of confidence and motivation, I know the shape is there and the team can work well around Cadel." The 97th edition of the Giro d'Italia begins with a team time trial, includes individual time trials of 42 and 26.8 kilometers in weeks two and three, plus five major mountain stages with summit finishes. "For sure, the last week will be pivotal," Baldato said. "Cadel has seen most of the route and most of the roads of the time trials, or he knows them from last year or past Giros. So we will be confident from the start that we can do a good team time trial for Cadel and for the morale of the team."

Focused On The Giro
BMC Racing Team President/General Manager Jim Ochowicz said the team's performance at the Giro d'Italia is pivotal to achieving its season-long goals. Through the first four months, the BMC Racing Team has won 12 races – including three individually by Evans – and compiled 32 podium finishes. At this same point last year, the team had tallied four wins and 21 podium results on the way to a team-record 30 victories. "Our staff and Cadel have put a professional effort into preparing every detail for this year's Giro d'Italia," Ochowicz said. "Following our early season successes and on the heels of a successful campaign in the Ardennes classics and the Giro del Trentino, we are confident we will carry this momentum into this year's Giro."

Download the BMC Racing Team's Giro d'Italia roster card (PDF with bios, statistics, etc.).

BMC Racing Team Giro d'Italia Roster (May 9-June 1):
Brent Bookwalter (USA), Yannick Eijssen (BEL), Cadel Evans (AUS), Ben Hermans (BEL), Steve Morabito (SUI), Daniel Oss (ITA), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Samuel Sánchez (ESP), Danilo Wyss (SUI).

President/General Manager:
Jim Ochowicz (USA)

Sport Directors:
Fabio Baldato (ITA)
Valerio Piva (ITA)
Jackson Stewart (USA)

Giovanni Ruffini (ITA)
Dario Spinelli (ITA)

Chief Communications Officer:
Georges Lüchinger (LIE)

Bus Drivers: Matt Rompion (FRA), Freddy Viaene (BEL). Chefs: Walter Grözinger (GER), Jean Patrick Simonneau (FRA). Mechanics: Antonio Biron (ITA), Peter De Bleecker (BEL), Danny Debuck (BEL), Aaron Fairley (USA), Alessandro Gaia (ITA), Jürgen Landrie (BEL), Jean-Marc Vandenberghe (BEL). Soigneurs: Marcello Bartoli (ITA), David Bombeke (BEL), Bernd Coutteau (BEL), Matt Excell (AUS), Anthony Lafourte (BEL), Gunther Landrie (BEL), Stefano Rubino (ITA), Luca Vaiente (ITA).