Please choose your territory and language
International, English

team news

Marco Pinotti's 10th place in the time trial moved him up to 30th place overall. (©Sirotti.)
Marco Pinotti's 10th place in the time trial moved him up to 30th place overall. (©Sirotti.)

Tirreno-Adriatico, Stage 7: Pinotti 10th In Time Trial

13. March 2012

Marco Pinotti finished 10th for the BMC Racing Team in Tuesday's individual time trial that concluded Tirreno-Adriatico.

Heel Problem For Van Avermaet
Pinotti said he was anxious to see how he would perform on the BMC timemachine TM01 over the mostly flat, 9.3-kilometer course. "The minimum goal was to make the top 10 and also to stay within three seconds a kilometer of Fabian Cancellara's time," Pinotti said. The five-time Italian national time trial champion exceeded his goal by finishing with 21 seconds of Cancellara's time that won the stage. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale) had a better time than Radioshack-Nissan's Chris Horner to win the race overall by 14 seconds. BMC Racing Team's Greg Van Avermaet did not start the time trial due to increasing pain in both of his heels. "For me, it is important to be ready for Milan-San Remo and the other classics," he said. "At the moment, my legs are feeling good. It's just my heels are just a little bit sore."

Evans Looks Ahead
Cadel Evans, winner of Tirreno-Adriatico last year, said he is looking forward to resting up and preparing for Criterium International after seven days of hard racing. "I didn't have the smoothest offseason like I did last year, so there was always the risk that I wasn't going to be at the level I was last year," Evans said. "Looking at it analytically, I'm not riding so poorly as the results would indicate. But there are a lot of people who were riding really well here at a high level of competition. So in the scheme of things I am looking forward to the rest of the season.

Click here to listen to Marco Pinotti via the BMC Racing Team AudioLine.

Click here to listen to Greg Van Avermaet via the BMC Racing Team AudioLine.