Please choose your territory and language
France, English

Spectators edge Absalon on in Méribel

24. August 2014

UCI Mountainbike World Cup - Méribel, France

Taking second place in front of an enthusiastic French audience, Julien Absalon secured the overall World Cup victory in Méribel. In addition to Absalon's historical record, BMC Racing Team also celebrated fourth place for Lukas Flückiger, seventh for Ralph Näf and the overall win in the team standings.

Body: As announced beforehand, the World Cup final was a walk on the tightrope for Julien Absalon. Spurred on by "his" French spectators, the record World Cup winner nevertheless had to calm down his passionate athlete's heart to avoid any risks.

Actually, he would have loved to close the gap on world champion Nino Schurter, but on this particular day it was his first priority to claim the sixth overall World Cup victory of his career. However, he also did not just want to play it safe: "Given this audience, it was impossible to fight for twentieth position only", admitted Absalon. "They were a big motivation for me to fight."

And that is what he did in a very convincing way, especially on the climbs. Speeding up, Absalon managed to beat German Manuel Fumic in a last lap effort and finished second. "It's a splendid triumph for me and for the team, and I am very happy about how the World Cup season has turned out," said the Frenchman.

Lukas Flückiger had a bad start, but in the second lap he rode even faster than Schurter. Delivering three (!) fastest laps, he finally finished fourth. "I need to improve on my starting skills, but riding faster than Nino - that's not really bad", said Flückiger.

Ralph Näf presented an impressive finish, claiming his best result of the season. "It's great to see that I' m still capable of doing it," said Näf with a broad grin on his face.

1. Nino Schurter (SUI)
2. Julien Absalon
3. Manuel Fumic (GER)
4. Lukas Flückiger
7. Ralph Näf
12. Moritz Milatz
17. Martin Fanger
20. Stephen Ettinger
31. Reto Indergand

Results Overall:
1. Julien Absalon
2. Nino Schurter
3. Daniel McConnell
4. Manuel Fumic
5. Stephane Tempier (Fra)
11. Lukas Flückiger
14. Moritz Milatz

20. Ralph Näf
27. Stephen Ettinger
33. Martin Fanger
36. Reto Indergand

Url to Results: