Please choose your territory and language
France, English

Lukas Flückiger: Fulminant Attack Secures Title

12. January 2014

Bussnang, Switzerland

Performing a tactically clever race at the national cyclo-cross championships in Bussnang, Lukas Flückiger has landed a coup: he managed to secure the Swiss champion jersey for BMC Mountainbike Racing Team. For Lukas Flückiger this is the second title in the elite class of the cyclo-cross discipline.

"I am really happy about the title. It means a lot to me, because I have worked hard to get it, and the level of racing in the Swiss cyclo-cross scene is much higher than it used to be a couple of years ago" said Lukas Flückiger, commenting his victory.

Lukas Flückiger was part of an eight-man lead group which established itself in the second lap. The group stayed together well into the tenth lap.

Up to that point, Lukas Flückiger had stuck to his own plan, not to ride at the front on the fast and dry condition as in order to save energy. In the final lap, however, he launched an attack so strong on the hill that none of his competitors were able to counter-attack.

On the top of the climb and ahead of the chasing pack, Lukas Flückiger soloed to the finish over the remaining 500 meters.

"It really worked, but I was quite surprised that I had managed to put so much time into the rest of the buch so quickly. Having said that, the last 500 meters were a really hard piece of work!" explained Flückiger who won his first Swiss cyclo-cross championship back in 2010. After the successes achieved by Julien Taramarcaz during the last two years, the Swiss Champion's jersey continues to lie in the hands of BMC.

The forthcoming cyclo-cross World Championships are not an issue for Lukas Flückiger. Concerning his plans for the near future, he said: "From now on I will concentrate on the mountainbike season."

BMC's road racer Arnaud Grand also confirmed his great shape in Bussnang. He participated in the final sprint together with Flückiger's pursuers but missed out on the bronze medal in a photo finish against Marcel Wildhaber and Simon Zahner.

1. Lukas Flückiger
2. Marcel Wildhaber
3. Simon Zahner
4. Arnaud Grand
5. Lukas Winterberg
6. Florian Vogel

Url to the results: