Please choose your territory and language
France, English

team news

Cadel Evans (left) and Samuel Sánchez are past podium finishers at the Vuelta a España. (Photo by Andrea Agostini, BMC Racing Team.)
Cadel Evans (left) and Samuel Sánchez are past podium finishers at the Vuelta a España. (Photo by Andrea Agostini, BMC Racing Team.)

BMC Racing Team Reveals Vuelta a España Roster

21. August 2014

Past Vuelta a España podium placers Cadel Evans and Samuel Sánchez headline the BMC Racing Team's roster for the final grand tour of the season.

Two Protected Riders
Evans finished third in his last appearance in the Spanish race in 2009, following up on a fourth-place finish in 2007. The past world road champion (2009) and Tour de France winner (2011) is coming off back-to-back stage wins and a sixth place finish overall at the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah. Sánchez was runner-up in 2009 and third in 2007, while winning three stages. The 2008 Olympic road race champion also counts a third-place finish at the 2010 Tour de France among his 14 grand tour appearances. BMC Racing Team Sport Director Valerio Piva said Sánchez will be the team's leader. "Cadel will also be a protected rider, like we did for Samuel at the Giro d'Italia," Piva said. "Samuel is an experienced rider, he knows the parcours and he is super motivated. Cadel comes out of Utah very strong, which will be very important. And we cannot forget Philippe Gilbert, who specializes in the uphill finishes. So we will try to win a stage with him." Gilbert, the 2012 world road champion, is owner of five stage wins at the Vuelta. The 3,239-kilometer race begins Saturday with a team time trial and concludes Sept. 14 with a 9.7-kilometer individual time trial.

Download the BMC Racing Team's exclusive roster card (PDF with bios, statistics, etc.).

View pre-race photos in the BMC Racing Team's Flickr gallery.

BMC Racing Team Vuelta a España Roster (Aug. 23-Sept. 14):
Rohan Dennis (AUS), Cadel Evans (AUS), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Steve Morabito (SUI), Dominik Nerz (GER), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Samuel Sánchez (ESP), Larry Warbasse (USA), Danilo Wyss (SUI).

President/General Manager:
Jim Ochowicz (USA)

Andy Rihs (SUI)

Sporting Manager:
Allan Peiper (AUS)

Sport Directors:
Fabio Baldato (ITA)
Valerio Piva (ITA)

Scott Major (USA)
Roger Palfreeman (GBR)

Bus Driver: Andoni Sanchez (ESP). Chef: Walter Grözinger (GER). Mechanics: Antonio Biron (ITA), Alessandro Gaia (ITA), Jürgen Landrie (BEL), Georg Van Oudenhove (BEL), Thierry Viaene (FRA). Nutritionist: Judith Haudum (AUT). Performance: Marco Pinotti (ITA). Press Officers: Andrea Agostini (ITA), Georges Lüchinger (LIE). Soigneurs: Marcello Bartoli (BEL), Dirk Leenaert (BEL), Marc Paeme (BEL), Stefano Rubino (ITA), Freddy Viaene (BEL).