Please choose your territory and language
France, English

team news

Tejay van Garderen has a fifth-place finish at Paris-Nice to his credit this year. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)
Tejay van Garderen has a fifth-place finish at Paris-Nice to his credit this year. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)

BMC Racing Team Ready For Hometown Start

9. May 2012

The BMC Racing Team will enjoy a hometown start to the Amgen Tour of California Sunday when the eight-day race gets underway in Santa Rosa, where the team is headquartered.

Important Race
Americans Brent Bookwalter, George Hincapie and Tejay van Garderen headline a roster that also includes Steve Morabito, who was ninth overall last year, and Paris-Tours winner Greg Van Avermaet. Steve Cummings makes his return after breaking his left wrist in a crash April 6 at Vuelta al Pais Vasco. BMC Racing Team Assistant Director Michael Sayers said the race is an important one on the team's calendar. "We have a lot of talent and I expect us to race as a team that will have success on both the GC (general classification) and stages," he said. Van Garderen said he learned some valuable lessons last year on the way to fifth overall and the best young rider jersey. "Last year, when I was put under pressure, I went too deep and lost some big time," van Garderen said. "So if I can stay calm this year – and, with the help of the super strong team we have – I hope to be able to reach the podium."

Download the BMC Racing Team race card (PDF with bios, statistics, etc.):

BMC Racing Team Amgen Tour of California Roster (May 13-20):
Brent Bookwalter (USA), Stephen Cummings (GBR), Yannick Eijssen (BEL), George Hincapie (USA), Steve Morabito (SUI), Tim Roe (AUS), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL), Tejay van Garderen (USA).

President/General Manager:
Jim Ochowicz (USA)

Chief Operations Officer:
Gavin Chilcott (USA)

Sport Directors:
Michael Sayers (USA)
Rik Verbrugghe (BEL)

Eric Heiden (USA)

Marketing Director:
Kate Ochowicz (USA)

Administration: Cindy Buckman (USA). Bus Driver: Andrzej Bek (POL). Mechanics: T.J. Grove (USA), Alan Kayser (USA), Ian Sherburne (USA). Soigneurs: Kevin Jardine (USA), Veronika Lenzi (USA), Jeremiah Ranegar (USA), Trudi Rebsamen (USA), Chris De Vos (BEL). Performance Advisor: Scott Nydam (USA). Press Officer: Sean Weide (USA).