Please choose your territory and language
Germany, English

The hunt for the Rainbow Jersey

2. September 2014

Hafjell, Norway

Next Sunday BMC team athletes Julien Absalon and Lukas Flueckiger will both be on the hunt for the World Championship title in Hafjell, Norway. The Frenchman will have the chance to win his eighth rainbow jersey, and there are outsider chances for the Swiss rider also. Both are debating about whether to use the teamelite TE01 or the fourstroke FS01.

Julien Absalon has won all of his World Championships titles riding hardtail bikes: four in the elite catargory, two in the U23 and one as a junior. However, this time the Frenchman is seriously considering riding his full suspension bike. Experts and fans are keenly awaiting his decision.

„I've done some training rides and I felt comfortable on it. It's a good option and I feel ready to use it. Which bike I will finally use depends on the impressions that I will get during my test rides on the course," declares Absalon. Due to a rib injury he didn't participate in the World Cup final in Hafjell last year.

Softtail or full suspension: the record World Champion is one of the favorites for the title. „I've had a great season so far, and the world title would be the icing on the cake. I am ready to fight for it," says Absalon.

Lukas Flueckiger is one of the medal contenders. Judging from his performance during the last six laps in Méribel he‘s one not to miss. „My goal is to win a medal. I won't compete in the World Championships just to be fifth or sixth in the end. I am still without a World Cup victory, therefore it would be presumptuous to talk about the title. But you never know what will happen," says the 2012 vice world champion.

About his choice of bike: „My priority is the fourstroke, but I will take both with me so I have the option. As far as the handling is concerned, there is not very much of a difference because BMC has adapted the geometry up front to that of the hardtail."

Url to Results:

Participating BMC Athletes (Julien Absalon, Frankreich, Lukas Flückiger, Schweiz, Ralph Näf, Schweiz, Martin Fanger, Schweiz, Moritz Milatz, Deutschland, Stephen Ettinger, USA)