Please choose your territory and language
Switzerland, English

team news

Thor Hushovd returns to racing for the first time since competing in the Giro d'Italia. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)
Thor Hushovd returns to racing for the first time since competing in the Giro d'Italia. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)

BMC Racing Team Has Multiple Objectives for Tour de Pologne

7. July 2012

The BMC Racing Team heads to the Tour of Pologne with a versatile roster that includes past winner Alessandro Ballan, as well as another former world road champion, Thor Hushovd.

Training Camp Experience
BMC Racing Team Assistant Director Max Sciandri said a training camp last week, which included nearly all the riders for the seven-day race that begins Tuesday, laid a good foundation. "It was not only a time to train together but also build team spirit and see each other in a more relaxed environment," Sciandri said. "We did a lot of good work together, quite a bit of motor pacing and climbing." Ballan, the Tour de Pologne winner in 2009, also finished third in 2006 but had to withdraw last year after a crash. "Alessandro knows this race well," Sciandri said, "so we have our eye on winning stages and contending for the overall."

Hushovd Eyes Return To Form
Hushovd makes his return to racing for the first time since withdrawing from the Giro d'Italia after Stage 5 on May 10. "To be realistic, I just want to race well," he said. "I'm sure I won't be good the first few days but I hope to get better day-by-day. By the end of the week, I look to have better condition than when I came in to get me ready for the Olympics." Hushovd said it has been difficult to watch the Tour de France,  "It's hard to see all the riders fighting there and see my teammates riding there. I'd like to be there riding as part of the team but I'm certainly looking forward to racing Poland."

Click here to download the official BMC Racing Team Race Card (PDF with roster, statistics, bios, etc.).

BMC Racing Team Tour de Pologne Roster (July 10-16):
Alessandro Ballan (ITA), Mathias Frank (SUI), Thor Hushovd (NOR), Martin Kohler (SUI), Marco Pinotti (ITA), Mauro Santambrogio (ITA), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL), Danilo Wyss (SUI).

Sport Directors:
Max Sciandri (GBR/ITA)
Rik Verbrugghe (BEL)

Scott Major (USA)

Bus Driver: Danny Debuck (BEL). Mechanics: Peter De Bleecker (BEL), Kevin Grove (USA), Nick Mondelaers (BEL). Physical Therapist: Anthony Pauwels (BEL). Press Officer: Sean Weide (USA). Soigneurs: Stefano Rubino (ITA), Luca Vaiente (ITA).