Please choose your territory and language
Benelux, English

Absalon and Co. ready for World Cup number three

25. May 2014

Nove Mesto - UCI Mountainbike Weltcup

On Sunday World Cup leader Julien Absalon will spearhead a seven-man squad which will try to storm the World Cup podium in Nove Mesto in the Czech Republic. Having won the first two World Cups of the season, Absalon will try to extend his lead in the series. As far as the team ranking is concerned, there are only three points missing for the top position currently.

In Nove Mesto the BMC squad will hit an undulating and difficult 4,32 kilometer course full of man-made obstacles. An enthusiastic crowd of people is sure to cheer them on. One week prior to the season's third World Cup both Julien Absalon and Moritz Milatz had left an impresstion in Heubach with their double victory. They will both travel to Moravia with great self-confidence and an on the dot preparation. Milatz recalled that he had gained his best World Cup result so far (3rd place) in 2009, just one week after the race in Heubach.

Swiss riders Lukas Flückiger and Ralph Näf also look forward to the race with great optimism. „The last weeks went according to plan. Just the fact that I caught a cold at the Bike Days in Solothurn had not been on my agenda. But now I am fit again and ready for the World Cup. My goal is to reach the top five", said Flückiger.

Ralph Näf is a bit more reserved with his forecast. „Top-ten should be feasible, maybe even more. I have fond memories of Nove Mesto, and I've adjusted my training to this race. My motto is ‚full gas'," said Näf, wo trained in South Tyrol last week. In 2012 Näf was fifth in Nove Mesto, finishing right in front of his current teammate Milatz.

Stephen Ettinger who had achieved his best World Cup result so far in Cairns, Martin Fanger and Reto Indergand have also set their sights high. Winning the team classification in order to take the lead in the overall team ranking as well is on everyone's agenda.


Participating BMC Athletes:
Julien Absalon, France
Lukas Flückiger, Switzerland
Ralph Näf, Switzerland
Moritz Milatz, Germany
Stephen Ettinger, USA
Martin Fanger, Switzerland
Reto Indergand, Switzerland

Url to Results: