Please choose your territory and language
Benelux, English

team news

Greg Van Avermaet will represent Belgium at the Olympic Games. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)
Greg Van Avermaet will represent Belgium at the Olympic Games. (©BMC/Tim de Waele.)

BMC Racing Team Seeking Stage Wins At Wallonie

19. July 2012

With Olympic team obligations preventing Greg Van Avermaet from defending his title all the way to the end at the Tour de Wallonie, the BMC Racing Team will hunt for stage wins when the race begins Saturday.

Van Avermaet Enjoying Good Form
BMC Racing Team Assistant Director Rik Verbrugghe said Van Avermaet will leave the race after Monday's stage to travel to London. But even with a change in the courses, the BMC Racing Team roster is still well-suited for it, Verbrugghe said. "It's a different race from past years," he said. "It's hard, but not that much. Just Stage 3 is the more difficult one. The others could see sprints or breakaways. So we'll go more for stage wins than the general classification." Van Avermaet said he's enjoying good form coming from the Tour de Pologne, where he was 18th overall and fourth on one stage. His past successes at Wallonie include his overall win here last year, a second place overall in 2008 and three stage wins in six appearances since 2006. "This is a race I really like – it has a nice parcours, good organization and I always like to ride it every year," he said. "Plus, it's good preparation for the Olympics and I'm now on a good level to do the race in London."

Download the official BMC Racing Team Race Card (PDF with roster, bios, statistics, etc.).

BMC Racing Team Tour de Wallonie Roster (July 21-25):
Adam Blythe (GBR), Yannick Eijssen (BEL), Klaas Lodewyck (BEL), Steve Morabito (SUI), Tim Roe (AUS), Johann Tschopp (SUI), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL).

Sport Director:
Rik Verbrugghe (BEL)

Giovanni Ruffini (ITA)

Press Officer:
Sean Weide (USA)

Bus Driver: Gianni Cedroni (ITA). Mechanics: Danny Debuck (BEL), Bertrand Lourtie (BEL). Soigneurs: Janis Demeurisse (BEL), Gunther Landrie (BEL), Marc Paeme (BEL).